Names from fiction (feat. namesakes, clones and trolls)

Four weeks ago, I was kidnapped by trolls.

Hence my sudden disappearance.

No need to panic, I got away, sort of. Turns out if you charm trolls into liking you, they’ll want you to bake cookies for them. Forever. So I’m just sitting here. After a troll prison baking spree. With what could be a big boulder keeping watch under my bedroom window. No biggie. (HELP).

But, on the bright side… Okay, there’s no bright side. But, on the slightly less terrible side, I convinced the trolls to help me write my next post. Don’t tell me that’s an awful idea, I was tired, and they were bored, I’m sure it worked out fine.

You see, I asked them to help me find out how many people in the US share a name with certain book characters. ‘Cause why not. And they did a pretty good job of it… Even though I SPECIFICALLY told them to use this website… And they stole public records instead… So yeah. We’re fine. This is fine.

And as such, you now get a neat list of how many people are either named like, or clones of, a bunch of book characters you may possibly know. With pictures and all. And absolutely no errors, because these numbers are obviously not statistical probabilities (they sure are) and there’s no chance of a troll having eaten half the records before I could get the right numbers off them (this may have happened).

And with that, I leave you to it… With a message from a helpful troll… Who would like you to know that there are 8,177 people named Garfield who are not cats, and that he will enjoy seeing the terror on your faces when he tracks each of you down and drags you into the underworld… Quite the inspiring words. Bye.

leaves

Tobias Eaton, a.k.a. Four (Divergent)

Name count: 1

Related image

I’m low-key disappointed that there aren’t 4 of him.

leaves

Lila Bard (A Darker Shade of Magic)

Name count: 1

Image result for lila bard

Not an accurate picture, given the lack of knives, pistols, and mouth.

leaves

Romeo Montague (Romeo and Juliet)

Name count: 1

Image result for romeo leonardo dicaprio

His must be a hard life…leaves

Rubeus Hagrid (Harry Potter)

Name count: 1

Image result for hagrid

Aww, I wonder if he keeps a pocket dragon?

leaves

Jill Pole (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair)

Name count: 1

Image result for jill pole narnia drawing

The Narnian Jill Pole met giants. So the real one… must have met the real Hagrid… right?

leaves

Quentin Jacobsen (Paper Towns)

Name count: 2

Related image

Contemporary books, where all names are twice as likely to be real.

leaves

Augustus Waters (The Fault in Our Stars)

Name count: 2

Related image

We can only hope they won’t make as many people cry as Gus did.

leaves

Octavia Blake (The 100)

Name count: 3

Related image

As long as no one gets on their bad side… It’ll be fine…

leaves

Victor Vale (Vicious)

Name Count: 4

Image result for victor vale

Proof that EO’s do exist.

leaves

Beatrice Prior, a.k.a. Tris (Divergent)

Name count: 5

Image result for tris prior gun

Low-key disappointed that there aren’t 6 of her either.

leaves

Andrew Wiggin, a.k.a. Ender (Ender’s Game)

Name count: 6

Image result for ender wiggin

PLEASE DON’T LET THEM BE HURT.

leaves

August Flynn (This Savage Song)

Name count: 6

Related image

Sunai don’t take pictures… So this is all we get.

leaves

Ezra Mason (Illuminae)

Name count: 7

Image result for illuminae

Ezra doesn’t take pictures either.

leaves

Katherine Harker (This Savage Song)

Name count: 9

Image result for kate harker this savage song

And this is the reason why we see no monsters at night!

leaves

Jane Grey (My Lady Jane)

Name count: 19

Image result for my lady jane

You think they “read too many books” too?

leaves

Elizabeth Bennet (Pride and Prejudice)

Name count: 22

Related image

Sadly for them, there are 4,737 William Collins, and no Fitzwilliam Darcy’s at all.

leaves

Tom Riddle, a.k.a. Voldemort (Harry Potter)

Name count: 23

Related image

We may have a problem…

leaves

Greg Gaines (Me and Earl and The Dying Girl)

Name count: 27

Image result for greg gaines me and earl and the dying girl

These people are in considerable danger… Because of this one line… “If after reading this book you come to my home and brutally murder me, I do not blame you”

leaves

Nicholas Benedict (The Mysterious Benedict Society)

Name count: 28

Image result for nicholas benedict

How many of them have a society of brilliantly gifted people is still unknown.

leaves

Hazel Lancaster (The Fault in Our Stars)

Name Count: 31

Related image

They’re most likely “Just Hazel”, not “Hazel Grace”.

leaves

Tom Sawyer (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)

Name count: 34

Here’s hoping none of them use dead cats to cure warts.

leaves

Percy Jackson (Percy Jackson & The Olympians)

Name count: 85

Related image

It’s likely that they either love the Percy Jackson series, or can’t stand the mention of it.

leaves

Harry Potter (Harry Potter)

Name count: 108

Image result for harry potter

Because every parent wants their kid to be The Boy Who Lived To Be 149 Years Old

leaves

Daniel Tate (Here Lies Daniel Tate)

Name count: 399

Image result for daniel tate

Hm… Yeah, that’s the best picture we’ll get.

leaves

Frankenstein (Frankenstein)

Name count: 418

Image result for frankenstein

And yet not one of them is named Victor. Why.leaves

Charlie Brown (Peanuts)

Name count: 803

Image result for charlie brown

Shhhh, he belongs in this list. Don’t say he doesn’t.

leaves

Daniel Crawford (Asylum)

Name Count: 937

Image result for daniel crawford asylum

…Are we still sure Dan was related to the warden at all?

leaves

John Watson (Sherlock Holmes)

Name count: 4,826

Related image

Elementary. There are no Sherlock Holmes, though.

leaves

Matilda (Matilda)

Name count: 24,534

Image result for matilda magic

Completely ignoring her last name just to have her wrap up the list.

1282670692-2400px1282670692-2400px1282670692-2400px

Talk

Aaaaand that’s it for the bookish namesakes, so HOW’S IT GOING?? What trouble have you been making?? and can you please save me from the trolls now?

23 thoughts on “Names from fiction (feat. namesakes, clones and trolls)

Add yours

  1. I’m actually shocked by how many there are for some of these! 22 Elizabeth Bennets?? Wow. For some of the more modern books like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, I wonder how many of those were born before the books came out and can now never escape, and how many just have parents who are superfans 😂
    Oh, and say hi to the trolls for me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?? Romeo, Hagrid and Frankenstein surprised me the most, they’re so unlikely. I wondered that too, and I bet it’s a nightmare either way! 😂
      *Goes say hi and withholds your name so they can’t find you* 😓

      Like

  2. Oh, thank goodness we have all those Harry Potters. That’s like… 4 per Voldemort. We’ll be okay. XD

    This was just a fun post! What a great idea!

    (Also love the intro bit. What kind of cookies to trolls like?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hadn’t thought of that 😂 It’s a relief 🙄

      Thank you so much!! And the trolls will like to hear that, they might spare your life now… In case of emergency, though, they like chocolate chip cookies best 🤫

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay this post is AWESOME and also there are apparently 1,000+ people in America with my exact name and I’m going to go change my name forever brb.😂 Also how weird is it to think people genuinely call their kids Harry Potter?!? Like some of the contemporary names I get, but WHY WOULD YOU CALL YOUR KID RUBEUS OR FOUR.😂Also August Flynn is such a good name ahhhhh. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is SO FUN! I love it! I am low key judging the parents who named their kids some of these names though haha. I mean, some are probably coincidences (like most of the Hazel Lancasters are about 82 years old) but some… Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!? Too funny! My name confirmed my knowledge that I am the only person with my name, so that’s fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m going to make it my mission to find Octavia. One of the three, I guess.
    Scratch that, I’ll take all three of them.
    Just need to wait for your post of “the precise locations of real people with fictional character names”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑